| |
RUS ENG KAZ

Revitalizing crafts in Kazakhstan

Yerzhan Tatishev Foundation, in co-operation with Eurasian Foundation for Central Asia (EFCA), realizes project aimed on supporting two regional information resources on crafts in Shymkent and Aktau cities. Project is fulfilled within the framework of revitalizing the crafts in Kazakhstan program, being realized by EFCA since 2005.

Craft is embodiment of culture of any nation. Even though Kazakhstan got ahead of its neighbors in development of economy, analysis of the crafts sector showed that the country takes last place among Central-Asian republics. This situation has very bad impact on such fields of economy as tourism and souvenirs production. Because of lack of local producers most souvenirs sold in Kazakhstan are manufactured in Russia, Iran, Uzbekistan, Turkey, China and Kyrgyzstan. For example, Kyrgyz productions are often sold as Kazakh thanks to similarity between traditional designs and paintings. These productions are very popular and of higher quality.

Craftsmen from regions of Kazakhstan live in information vacuum. Despite of the fact that they can produce very good souvenirs, lack of knowledge about the market and absence of access to market information doesn’t let them compete with producers in Almaty, Astana and neighbor countries. Local craftsmen stay unemployed and very often are very poor.

Big national research, performed by Eurasian Foundation for Central Asia in fall 2006, revealed need of Kazakhstan in development of crafts market and improvement of quality of production. Moreover, government of Kazakhstan is interested in supporting projects on saving national heredity. After considering various problems of the craftsmen and assessing perspectives of development of craft, EFCA, starting from 2006 with support of “Shevron Munaigaz Inc.” company and in interaction with Ministry of Culture and Information of RK started three-year program called “Revitalizing Crafts in Kazakhstan”.

Currently III part of the program is being realized, which will include a set of events, aimed to systematical development of Kazakhstani crafts sector, with future exports abroad. To localize the efforts, 2 regional information-resource centers will be created in Shymkent and Aktau cities. Within the framework of program technical equipment, organizing fairs and exhibitions, series of professional and technical trainings for craftsmen through abovementioned resource centers. Further plans include establishment of such centers for craftsmen all over Kazakhstan.

Concept of regional resource centers

Because of big distance between the craftsmen, partners plan to concentrate efforts in development of crafts through resource centers (RC). Later these centers are expected to unite in Craftsmen Association of Kazakhstan, basing on existing NGO in Almaty - OF “Our Heritage”. RC would be selected on the basis of competition among those already existing NGOs or groups of craftsmen, interested in developing crafts in their regions. According to the results of the research, in 2006 there were 107 Craft NGOs and groups. RC’s functions will include following:

  • Create and support Craft NGOs network in Kazakhstan (interaction with other regions, purchasing, printing special books, notifying of competitions, merchandises and other cultural events, where craftsmen can take part).
  • Support to craftsmen in realization of their products, technical and business consulting.
  • Organizing the merchandises, exhibitions, competitions for craftsmen.
  • Organizing technical trainings, master-classes for craftsmen, with local and foreign trainers.
  • Interaction with Department of Culture in akimats, museums, galleries, with experts, tour operators, and other interested persons and organizations to solve problems of the craftsmen and their promotion.
  • Popularization of crafts among the local people (publicity, participation in local cultural events, materials in mass media).
  • Searching and establishing access to raw materials.
  • Maintain connection with other resource centers in other regions of Kazakhstan
  • Organization of annual events in selection and promotion of local craftsmen’s products for UNESCO quality sign
  • Participation in conferences, forums, symposiums on crafts, new tendencies, and propagandizing it in regions
  • Rendering technical support to the craftsmen (access to Internet, computers, fax, printers, etc)
  • Interaction with tour operators in selling products on tour sights
  • Interaction with schools, youth art associations to attract young people to the crafts and finding new talents
  • Searching for financing the activities (government, grants, membership, own activity, business)
  • Organizing the work of art associations for assessment of crafts

Estimated results

  • Two resource centers in Aktau and Shymkent will contribute to the development of crafts in South and West Kazakhstan (through providing with the information about various events in crafts sphere; opening of access to special and reference information, internet; augmenting the professional level of craftsmen through technical trainings and master-classes; organization of local exhibitions and fairs; interaction with governmental departments, fundraising, etc);
  • Resource centers will be provided with necessary equipment and computers for the local craftsmen;
  • Trainers of the program will acquire and enrich their experience in conducting trainings and master-classes for the craftsmen;
  • Population of South and West Kazakhstan will be informed about their crafts and achievements through exhibitions and fairs, organized in appropriate regions;
  • Not less than 60 craftsmen will be educated through technical trainings, organized in South and West Kazakhstan, which will positively influence the quality of production;
  • It is estimated that about 200 craftsmen in both regions will attend to RCs;
  • Partner relationships will be established between craftsmen of the region, local and central governments and business;
  • Both regions-wide public will be informed about problems of crafts development and will be able to access quality craft products;
  • Youth of regions will be able to join to the crafts;
  • The fundament of national network for development of crafts will be established;
  • Familiarization of the craftsmen with new channels of selling their products, like local touristic places and sights and hence – increasing of sales;
  • Creating new employment places and development of entrepreneurship in the region.

| |
RUS ENG KAZ

Развитие ремесел и возрождения народных художественных промыслов в Казахстане

Фонд Ержана Татишева, совместно с Фондом Евразия Центральной Азии (ФЕЦА), реализует проект, направленный на поддержку двух региональных информационно-ресурсных центров по ремеслам в гг. Шымкент и Актау. Проект выполняется в рамках программы развития ремесел и возрождения народных художественных промыслов в Казахстане, реализуемой ФЕЦА с 2005 года.

Ремесленничество является материальным носителем культуры любого народа. Хотя Казахстан обогнал многих своих соседей по развитию определенных отраслей экономики, исследование сектора ремесла показало, что в сфере развития ремесел Казахстан находится на последнем месте среди всех Среднеазиатских республик. Плачевное состояние дел в казахстанском ремесле отрицательно сказывается на таких важных отраслях экономики, как туризм и производство сувенирной продукции. Из-за нехватки местных каналов поставки большинство сувениров, продаваемых в Казахстане, производятся в России, Иране, Узбекистане, Турции, Китае и Киргизстане. Например, кыргызская ремесленная продукция зачастую продается в качестве казахской благодаря схожести рисунков и традиционных узоров и пользуется большим спросом, что объясняется лучшим качеством предоставляемого товара.

Ремесленники из областей Казахстана живут в информационном вакууме. Несмотря на то, что они способны производить конкурентоспособные изделия, нехватка знания рынка и отсутствие доступа к рыночной информации не позволяет им состязаться с ремесленными изделиями, производимыми в гг. Алматы, Астане и в странах ближнего зарубежья, из-за чего местные ремесленники остаются безработными и во многих случаях вынуждены жить за чертой бедности.

Масштабное национальное исследование, проведённое Фондом Евразия Центральной Азии осенью 2006 г., выявило потребность Казахстана в развитии рынка ремесленничества и улучшении качества ремесленных изделий. Более того, правительство Казахстана проявило интерес к поддержке проектов, направленных на сохранение культурного наследия. После рассмотрения различных проблем ремесленников и оценив перспективы развития ремесла, ФЕЦА, начиная с 2006 г., при поддержке компании «Шеврон Мунайгаз Инк.» и взаимодействии с Министерством Культуры и Информации РК приступил к осуществлению трехлетней программы под названием «Развитие ремесел и возрождение народных художественных промыслов в Казахстане».

В настоящее время началась реализация III фазы программы, во время которой будет реализован комплекс мероприятий, направленный на целенаправленное и систематическое развитие казахстанского сектора ремесла с выходом в будущем на международную арену. С целью локализации усилии по развитию ремесел в регионах планируется создание двух региональных информационно-ресурсных центров по ремеслам в гг. Шымкент и Актау. В рамках проекта планируется техническое оснащение, организация ремесленных выставок-ярмарок и проведение серии профессиональных технических тренингов для ремесленников через данные ресурсные центры. В перспективе планируется открытие сети подобных информационно-ресурсных центров для ремесленников по всему Казахстану.

Концепция региональных ресурсных центров

В виду большой территориальной разбросанности ремесленников по всему Казахстану партнеры планируют сконцентрировать усилия по развитию ремесленничества через ремесленные ресурсные центры (РРЦ) на местах. В перспективе ожидается объединение этих центров и других ремесленных организаций в Ассоциацию ремесленников Казахстана на базе сформировавшейся ремесленной НПО в г. Алматы – ОФ «Our Heritage». РРЦ на местах будут отбираться на основе конкурса среди существующих ремесленных НПО или групп ремесленников, заинтересованных в развитии ремесла в своих регионах. По результатам проведенного исследования состояния дел в ремесленничестве Казахстана в 2006 г. насчитывалось порядка 107 ремесленных НПО и групп по всему Казахстану. В функции РРЦ будет входить следующее:

  • Создать и поддерживать сеть ремесленных НПО в Казахстане (общение между собой и с другими регионами, закуп, подготовка и выпуск специальной литературы, оповещение о конкурсах, ярмарках и других культурных мероприятиях, в которых могут участвовать ремесленники).
  • Помощь ремесленникам в реализации своей продукции, проведение технических и бизнес консультаций.
  • Организация ярмарок, выставок, конкурсов для ремесленников на местном уровне.
  • Организация технических тренингов, мастер-классов для ремесленников с привлечением местных тренеров, а также из ближнего и дальнего зарубежья.
  • Взаимодействие с Департаментами культуры при акиматах, музеями, галереями, экспертами, туроператорами и другими заинтересованными лицами и организациями для решения проблем ремесленников и продвижения их деятельности.
  • Популяризация ремесленничества среди местного населения (реклама, участие в местных культурных мероприятиях, материалы в СМИ).
  • Поиск и налаживание доступа к сырью и материалам для ремесленников.
  • Поддержание связи с такими же ресурсными центрами в других регионах РК.
  • Проведение ежегодных мероприятий по отбору и продвижению изделий местных ремесленников на знак качества ЮНЕСКО.
  • Отслеживание и участие в конференциях, форумах, симпозиумах по ремесленничеству, выявление тенденций и новых веяний, пропагандирование их в своем регионе.
  • Предоставление технической помощи ремесленникам (доступ к Интернету, компьютерное время, факс, принтеры и т.д.).
  • Взаимодействие с туроператорами для реализации изделий на турсайтах.
  • Взаимодействие со школами, детскими творческими объединениями, ДУИТ для привлечения молодежи к ремесленничеству и выявлению юных талантов.
  • Поиск средств для своей деятельности (у государства, гранты, членство, собственная деятельность, бизнес-структуры).
  • Формирование и организация работы худсоветов для оценки ремесленнических работ.

Ожидаемые результаты

  • Два ремесленных ресурсных центра в Актау и Шымкенте будут способствовать развитию ремесел в Южном и Западном Казахстане (через обеспечение ремесленников необходимой информацией о различных мероприятиях в ремесленной сфере; открытия доступа к справочной и специальной литературой, Интернету; поднятия уровня ремесленников посредством организации технических тренингов и мастер-классов; организация и проведение выставок и ярмарок ремесел на местах; взаимодействие с государственными органами, фандрайзинг и т.д.);
  • Ремесленные ресурсные центры будут укомплектованы ремесленным оборудованием и оргтехникой для оказания широкого спектра услуг для местных ремесленников;
  • Тренеры программы приобретут и усилят свой опыт проведения тренингов и мастер-классов для ремесленников;
  • Население Южного и Западного Казахстана будет оповещаться о своих ремеслах и достижениях через ремесленные выставки и ярмарки, организованные в соответствующих регионах;
  • Не менее 60 ремесленников пройдут обучение на технических тренингах, организованных в Южном и Западном Казахстане, что положительным образом скажется на улучшении качества ремесленной продукции;
  • Ожидается, что порядка 200 ремесленников в обоих регионах будут обслуживаться РРЦ ежегодно;
  • Установятся партнерские отношения между ремесленниками региона, местными и центральными органами власти и бизнесом;
  • Широкая общественность двух регионов будет осведомлена о проблемах развития ремесла и сможет получить доступ к качественной ремесленной продукции;
  • Молодежь регионов получит возможность приобщаться к ремеслу;
  • Будет заложена основа национальной сети по развитию ремесел;
  • Освоение ремесленниками двух регионов новых каналов продаж своей продукции, таких как местных турсайты и достопримечательности и как следствие – увеличение продаж продукции;
  • Создание новых рабочих мест и развитие предпринимательства в регионе.